top of page

Guideline from the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada

In September 2023, the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC) published a new clinical practice guideline for antenatal fetal health surveillance in order to allow for timely intervention to prevent perinatal morbidity and/or mortality. This guideline is intented for use by all health professionals who provide prenatal care in Canada.

Recommendations 4 and 5 of Guideline No. 441 –Antenatal Fetal Health Surveillance – pertains to fetal movement counting:​

  • All pregnant individuals should be advised to regularly monitor fetal movements starting at 26 weeks gestation.

 

  • If a reduction of fetal movements is identified, regardless of the technique used to assess fetal movements, pregnant individuals should be advised to present to their care provider or local obstetrical unit immediately for further evaluation.

Management of women reporting decreased fetal movements is important. Many women who present with reduced fetal movements and a living fetus (30%) were falsely reassured only to have a subsequent stillbirth. Data also suggest that with decreased fetal movement counts, electronic fetal heart monitoring alone may not be sufficient to ensure fetal well-being.

For more information, please consult:

Significance of Fetal Movements

According to Statistics Canada, every year, there are more than 3,000 stillbirths in Canada . The Hunter Medical Research Institute estimates that for each stillbirth, 99 other births narrowly escaped death.

The association between a reduction in fetal movements and stillbirth has been known for a long time. This was formalised from the 1970s onwards in a series of studies that noted the increased incidence of stillbirth and fetal growth restriction in women presenting with reduced fetal movements, which preceded fetal death by several days. Decreased placental perfusion, fetal acidemia and acidosis are recognized as being associated with decreased fetal movements.

 

Moreover, reduced fetal movements are linked to adverse perinatal outcomes such as:

  • birth asphyxia

  • stillbirth

  • developmental delays

  • infections

  • haemorrhage

  • emergency c-sections

  • umbilical cord complications

  • fetal growth restriction

 

Fetal movements are therefore one of the best indicators of the well being of an unborn child. Maternal monitoring of fetal movements requires no technology and is available to all women. As the third trimester approaches, have an honest discussion with your patients about the significance of fetal movements. Use this occasion to give them the pamphlet "Learn to count your baby's kicks".

Click here to view the pamphlet Learn how to count your baby's kicks

 

Also touch on myths that persist within the community and the medical profession.

Click here to read the section on Myths surrounding stillbirth
 

A daily count of fetal movements within the third trimester can help prevent adverse perinatal outcomes. There is no magic number of fetal movements a pregnant woman should feel. Every baby moves differently, some more than others. What’s important is for each woman to learn what is normal for her baby. To do so, she must pay attention to her baby’s movements.

More and more, pregnant women are busy at work or at home and face many distractions. Unless they take the time to stop and pay attention to their baby’s movements, it can easily happen that a woman will not remember feeling her baby move or that she will have no knowledge of what is normal or not for her baby.

Ask your patient to take a moment, every day, to stop and count her baby’s movements. To take that time and bond with her baby. Counting her baby’s movements will help her learn their movement pattern.

Click here to read the section on How to count my baby's movements
 

If your patient perceives that her baby is moving differently than usual, or if the baby is moving less, ask her to contact you without delay or go to the nearest maternity. Many women who feel reduced fetal movements delay contacting their health care professional or going to the hospital. This lost time could be crucial to intervene and prevent adverse perinatal outcomes such as stillbirth.

As a doctor or health care professional, when a patient reports a change in her baby's fetal movements, you should complete a thorough evaluation of the maternal and fetal status, including a non-stress test, in accordance with the SOGC Guideline: Antenatal Fetal Health Surveillance.

BabyKicks.ca’s mission is to inform parents and health care professionals about the importance of a baby’s movements during the 3rd trimester of pregnancy in the hopes of reducing the number of stillbirths in Canada.

Help us achieve our mission by contributing to our funding campaign via Go Fund Me.

bottom of page

top of page

Directive clinique de la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada

En septembre 2023, la Société des gynécologues et obstétriciens du Canada (SOGC) a émis une nouvelle directive clinique pour la surveillance du bien-être fœtal lors de la période prénatale dans le but de permettre une intervention rapide en prévention de la morbidité et la mortalité périnatales. Cette directive clinique s'adresse à tous les professionnels de la santé qui offrent des soins prénataux au Canada.

Les recommandations 4 et 5 de la directive clinique N° 441 – Surveillance prénatale du bien-être fœtal – concerne le décompte des mouvements fœtaux :

  • Il faut recommander aux personnes enceintes d’observer régulièrement les mouvements fœtaux à partir de 26 semaines d’aménorrhée.

 

  • Il faut aviser la personne enceinte de consulter son fournisseur de soins ou de se présenter à l’unité locale d’obstétrique immédiatement pour subir une évaluation approfondie en cas de diminution perçue des mouvements fœtaux, peu importe la technique de surveillance utilisée.

La prise en charge des femmes qui présentent une baisse du nombre de mouvements fœtaux est importante. Bon nombre des femmes qui présentent une baisse du nombre de mouvements fœtaux et un fœtus vivant (30%) sont rassurées à tort pour ensuite connaître une mortinaissance. Les données laissent également entendre que, en présence d’une baisse du nombre de mouvements fœtaux, le seul recours au monitorage électronique de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale n’est pas suffisant pour assurer le bien-être fœtal.
 

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter :

L’importance des mouvements fœtaux

Selon Statistique Canada, chaque année, il y a plus de 3000 mortinaissances au Canada après la 20e semaine de grossesse . De plus, le Hunter Medical Research Institute (HMRI) estime que pour chaque mortinaissance, il y a 99 naissances qui ont échappé de justesse à la mort.
 

L’association entre la réduction des mouvements fœtaux et la mortinaissance est connu depuis bien longtemps. À partir des années 1970, de nombreuses recherches ont noté une hausse de l’incidence de mortinaissances et de retards de croissance intra-utérin chez les femmes présentant une diminution de mouvements fœtaux, laquelle précédait la mort fœtale de plusieurs jours. Il est aussi reconnu que l’acidémie, l’acidose fœtale et la baisse de la perfusion placentaire sont associées à une diminution du nombre de mouvements fœtaux.
 

La diminution des mouvements fœtaux est liée à des issues périnatales indésirables telles que :
 

  • l'asphyxie du nouveau-né

  • la mortinaissance

  • les retards de développement

  • les infections

  • les hémorragies

  • les césariennes d'urgence

  • les complications liées au cordon ombilical

  • les retards de croissance intra-utérins
     

Les mouvements fœtaux sont donc l’un des meilleurs indicateurs du bien-être du bébé à naître. La surveillance maternelle des mouvements fœtaux ne nécessite aucune technologie et peut être utilisé par toutes les femmes. À l’approche du 3e trimestre, ayez une discussion franche avec vos patientes concernant l’importance des mouvements fœtaux. Profitez-en pour leur remettre le dépliant "Apprenez à compter les mouvements de votre bébé".

 

Cliquez ici pour accéder au dépliant Apprenez à compter les mouvements de votre bébé

 

Abordez aussi certains des mythes qui persistent au sein de la société et même de la communauté médicale.
 

Cliquez ici pour lire la section Mythes concernant les mortinaissances
 

Le décompte quotidien des mouvements fœtaux, effectué au cours du 3e trimestre de grossesse, peut aider à prévenir les issues périnatales indésirables. Il n’y a pas de nombre magique de mouvements fœtaux. Chaque bébé bouge différemment, certains plus que d’autres. L’important est que la femme apprenne ce qui est normal pour son bébé. Pour ce faire, elle doit porter attention aux mouvements de son bébé quotidiennement.
 

De nos jours, les femmes enceintes sont occupées au travail ou à la maison et font face à de nombreuses distractions. À moins de prendre le temps de s’arrêter pour prêter attention aux mouvements de leur bébé, il peut facilement arriver qu’elles ne se souviennent pas avoir senti leur bébé bouger ou qu’elles n’aient pas connaissance de ce qui est normal ou pas pour leur bébé.
 

Demandez à vos patientes de prendre le temps, chaque jour, de s’arrêter pour compter les mouvements de leur bébé et d’en faire une période privilégiée entre elles et leur bébé. Compter les mouvements de leur bébé les aidera à se familiariser avec les mouvements de celui-ci.
 

Cliquez ici pour lire la section Comment compter les mouvements de mon bébé
 

Si votre patiente perçoit que son bébé bouge différemment qu’à l’habitude, ou s'il bouge moins, demandez-lui de vous contacter sans attendre ou de se rendre à la maternité la plus près. Plusieurs femmes qui perçoivent une diminution des mouvements fœtaux attendent avant d’en informer leur professionnel de la santé ou de se rendre à l’hôpital. Ce temps perdu pourrait être crucial pour intervenir et éviter des issues périnatales indésirables, dont la mortinaissance.
 

En tant que médecin, sage-femme ou autre professionnel de la santé, lorsqu’une patiente vous rapporte un changement dans les mouvements de son bébé, vous devriez effectuer une évaluation approfondie de l'état de santé maternelle et fœtale, y compris un examen de réactivité fœtale, en accord avec la directive clinique de la SOGC Surveillance prénatale du bien-être fœtal.

BébéBouge.ca a comme mission d’informer les parents et les professionnels de la santé de l’importance des mouvements du bébé pendant le 3e trimestre de grossesse dans l’espoir d’aider à prévenir la mortinaissance et autres problèmes périnataux indésirables.

Aidez-nous à remplir notre mission en contribuant à notre campagne de financement via Go Fund Me.

bottom of page