top of page

In Canada, more than 3,000 babies die each year in their mother’s womb after 20 weeks of pregnancy. In many cases, the mother will have experienced a decrease in her baby’s movements in the preceding days. It is estimated that up to 30% of these babies could be saved. Don’t let their cries go silent.

20231107_200943.jpg

Little Judith’s Story

When she was in her mother’s womb, Little Judith was doing kickboxing, that much was obvious! She was full of energy, was moving frequently and was kicking hard. The whole family was awaiting her arrival with anticipation, including her 3 year old brother.

 

At 37 weeks of pregnancy, contractions appeared and disappeared within a few hours. Following this, her mother started noticing that her kickboxing baby was moving less frequently and kicking less hard. Though slightly worried, mom decided to wait a few days to speak with her doctor during her routine appointment. The doctor listened to a few heartbeats and told her it was normal to feel the baby move less towards the end of pregnancy (which is false). Reassured, mom returned home.

 

Two days later, mom could no longer feel her baby move. While dad was trying to reassure her, they made their way to the hospital’s maternity unit, but it was already too late: Little Judith’s heart had stopped beating. The next day, mom delivered a baby girl, stillborn at 38 weeks of pregnancy. The day after, she tried to explain to big brother why his baby sister did not come home with mom and dad.

 

The autopsy report will reveal that Little Judith was healthy and that she died from asphyxia. The lack of oxygen was caused by an inflammation of the umbilical cord due to a Group B Strep infection of the placenta . Mom now knows that if she would have gone to the hospital a week sooner, Little Judith would probably be alive today.

Please visit Group B Strep International to learn more about Group B Strep, https://groupbstrepinternational.org/

Founder

Nadine Belzile holds a Master’s Degree in anthropology and worked for 15 years as a research and public policy analyst for the Government of Canada. On September 18, 2012, at 38 weeks of pregnancy, she gave birth to her 2nd child, Judith, a stillborn daughter. To prevent other babies from dying without reason and so that other parents will not have to suffer the consequences of grieving for their baby, she created BabyKicks.ca in 2019.

 

In 2022, she co-founded the Canadian Collaborative for Stillbirth Prevention (www.cc4sp.ca) to ask the Government of Canada to implement a national action plan to reduce stillbirths, including a national awareness campaign to inform pregnant women of the significance of their baby's movements during the third trimester.

BabyKicks.ca’s mission is to inform parents and health care professionals about the importance of a baby’s movements during the 3rd trimester of pregnancy in the hopes of reducing the number of stillbirths in Canada.

Help us achieve our mission by contributing to our funding campaign via Go Fund Me.

bottom of page

top of page

Chaque année, au Canada, plus de 3000 bébés meurent dans le ventre de leur mère après la 20e semaine de grossesse. Dans plusieurs cas, la mère aura senti une diminution des mouvements de son bébé dans les jours précédents. Il est estimé que jusqu’à 30% de ces bébés pourraient être sauvés. Ne laissons plus leur détresse passer inaperçue.

20231107_200943.jpg

Histoire de Bébé Judith

Alors qu’elle était dans le ventre de sa mère, Bébé Judith s’amusait à faire du kickboxing, c’est certain! Elle était pleine d’énergie, bougeait beaucoup et frappait fort. Toute la famille attendait sa venue avec impatience, y compris son grand-frère de 3 ans.

À 37 semaines de grossesse, des contractions sont apparues puis disparues après quelques heures. C’est par la suite que sa maman s’est rendue compte que son bébé kickboxing bougeait moins souvent et frappait moins fort. Malgré une légère inquiétude, maman a attendu quelques jours pour en parler à son médecin pendant un rendez-vous de suivi planifié. Le médecin a écouté quelques battements de cœur et lui a dit qu’il était normal de moins sentir le bébé bouger en fin de grossesse (ce qui est faux). Maman s’en retourne donc chez elle rassurée.

Deux jours plus tard, maman ne sent plus son bébé bouger. Accompagnée de papa qui tente de la rassurer, maman se rend à l’unité de maternité de l’hôpital, mais il est déjà trop tard : le cœur de Bébé Judith ne bat plus. Le lendemain, elle accouchera donc d’une petite fille mort-née à 38 semaines de grossesse. Le surlendemain, elle tentera d’expliquer à grand frère pourquoi sa petite sœur n’est pas revenue à la maison avec maman et papa.

Dans le rapport d’autopsie, maman apprend que Bébé Judith était en pleine santé et qu’elle est décédée par asphyxie. Elle a manqué d’oxygène lorsque le cordon ombilical s’est inflammé suite à une infection du placenta au streptoccoque de groupe B . Maman sait alors que si elle s’était rendue à l’hôpital une semaine plus tôt, Bébé Judith serait probablement en vie aujourd’hui.

Visitez le site de Group B Strep International pour plus d’information sur le streptoccoque de groupe B :  https://fr.groupbstrepinternational.org/

Fondatrice

Nadine Belzile est diplômée des universités Carleton et Laval en anthropologie et a travaillé 15 ans comme analyste de recherches et de politiques publiques au sein du Gouvernement du Canada. Le 18 septembre 2012, elle donne naissance à son 2e enfant, Judith, une petite fille morte-née à 38 semaines de grossesse. Afin d’éviter que d’autres bébés meurent inutilement et que d’autres parents aient à vivre avec les conséquences d’un deuil périnatal, elle crée BébéBouge.ca en 2019.

 

En 2022, elle devient co-fondatrice du Collaboratif canadien pour la prévention des mortinaissances (www.cc4sp.ca) afin de demander au Gouvernement du Canada de mettre en place un plan d'action national pour réduire les mortinaissances, incluant une campagne de sensibilisation nationale pour informer les femmes enceintes de l'importance des mouvements de leur bébé pendant le 3e trimestre de grossesse.

BébéBouge.ca a comme mission d’informer les parents et les professionnels de la santé de l’importance des mouvements du bébé pendant le 3e trimestre de grossesse dans l’espoir d’aider à prévenir la mortinaissance et autres problèmes périnataux indésirables.

Aidez-nous à remplir notre mission en contribuant à notre campagne de financement via Go Fund Me.

bottom of page